- Vitamin Guide
- Health Conditions
- Health Centers
- Diet & Weight Loss
- Herbal Remedies
- Current News
- Food Guide
The soy-free diet is eaten by people who are allergic to soy, one of the most common food allergies in infants, young children, and adults. These people are required to eliminate all foods that contain soy or soy products in order to avoid unpleasant allergic reactions. Most people who are allergic to soy are allergic to the protein in soy. Soy oil and soy lecithin pose little risk of causing an allergic reaction in most, although not all, soy-allergic people because processing removes almost all the protein.
Best bets: Look for nonsoy protein sources such as veggie burgers (be careful to read the label—not all of these will be soy-free), wheat gluten, seitan, and meat products, and cow’s milk, rice milk, and almond milk.
Copyright © 2016 Healthnotes, Inc. All rights reserved. www.healthnotes.com
The information presented by Healthnotes is for informational purposes only. It is based on scientific studies (human, animal, or in vitro), clinical experience, or traditional usage as cited in each article. The results reported may not necessarily occur in all individuals. Self-treatment is not recommended for life-threatening conditions that require medical treatment under a doctor's care. For many of the conditions discussed, treatment with prescription or over the counter medication is also available. Consult your doctor, practitioner, and/or pharmacist for any health problem and before using any supplements or before making any changes in prescribed medications. Information expires June 2016.